Cooperative Members

The land cooperatives that make up the OCFP-Mayan Zone have been organized for 22 years. During this time, they have fought to adapt to economic, social, and environmental changes in the region and are now prepared to face future changes.

OCFP-Mayan Zone is comprised of the following 19 cooperatives:
  • Naranjal Poniente
  • Tabi
  • Tres Reyes
  • Reforma agraria
  • Betania
  • X-Maben y anexos
  • Chan Santa Cruz
  • Kampocolche
  • Filomeno Mata
  • Tulúm
  • Laguna Kana
  • X-pichil
  • Yoactun
  • Trapich
  • Santa María Poniente
  • Dzoyola
  • Chunhuas
  • Yaxley
  • Cuauhtemoc
The cooperative is a communal form of land ownership that was promoted in Mexico for more than 5 decades. Currently, more than 95% of forests in Quintana Roo are managed in this way. Cooperatives, usually communities or families founded by men, make decisions about land use together. The first forest cooperatives of Quintana Roo were conceptualized and created in the 40s. The main economic activity was the collection of latex from Sapodilla trees, which is the main ingredient in chicle (natural chewing gum). These cooperatives were equipped with large tracts of land (between 20,000 and 90,000 ha) and an area of forest for each family (more than 400 ha per group). 10 cooperatives have conserved the largest amount of forest cover (30-80% of the total area). These groups were created with an obligation to preserve the forests and use them in a rational and communal manner.